It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 11:02 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Need some help....
PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2003 1:20 pm 

Hello everyone, I’m not too sure where to post this.

My name is Katie and I am a Freshman Chemistry major at Texas A&M University. For one of my chemistry classes I have to do a presentation about the advantages/disadvantages of organic and chemical pesticides.

I wanted to know if any of you had any easy to make organic recipes that I could use in class for a demonstration. My group was hoping show the affects on ants and other bugs when using organic as opposed to chemical pesticides. I’d appreciate any help you can give me.

-Katie

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:41 am 

Hi Katie. I am here at A&M too. I know this is only a class project, but it sure would be great if we could get A&M to promote organics more. I wonder if they get grant money from the pesticide and fertilizer companies because they seem all about chemicals. Here is a web site with organic formulas:
http://www.htv10.com/nature/020721/intro/index.html

Also the Home Brew section of this web site has some stuff. Good luck!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2003 12:11 am 

Thanks for your help! :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2003 12:18 am 

This is one of the best things I've written on this subject. Feel free to convince your instructors of the advantages of organics with it if you can.

Here's a list of things an organic program can do that no chemical can do. The beneficial microbes in the soil do the following.

1. Decompose plant residues and manure to humus.
2. Retain nutrients in humus.
3. Combine nitrogen and carbon to prevent nutrient loss.
4. Suppress disease.
5. Produce plant growth regulators.
6. Develop soil structure, tilth, and water penetration/retention.
7. Clean up chemical residues.
8. Shift soil pH to neutral and keep it there.
9. Search out and retrieve nutrients in distant parts of the soil.