It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:39 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:50 pm 

Hello,

I am very new to gardening. I planted some onions in and among my other plants to help with pests, but now my onions are covered in a red and black bug. I don't know what it is or how to get rid of it, but I think it is this: Metriorrhynchomiris dislocatus or *possibly* a red shouldered bug (box elder bug). What can I use to get rid of this bug or do I even need to? It's also on my other plants, but not in such high numbers.

Thanks so much!!
Megan

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:28 pm 

too early for harliquen bugs.where are you?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:01 pm 

I'm in Texas with weeks now of temps in the 70's and 80's but the bugs I have don't have any spots. They are black down the center of them with red along the sides. Here is a link to the closest picture I can find to what they look like.

http://www.austinbug.com/survey/2011/pi ... etrior.jpg

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 9:03 pm 

That link doesn't open for me, but I looked up the name. I have trouble with leaf legged bugs, a relative of the photo you found. You don't want to burn your tender plants so be careful with the orange oil and such. I'd knock them off with water and spray an orange oil mix around the base of the plants, or I'd do a foliar feeding and have a little orange oil in there along with the good stuff. Look in the library for formulas and times of day for that.