It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:34 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2010 7:47 pm 

Hello!

I am new to the Dirt Doctor forum, but not new to the site! I recently submitted a question about battling winter bluegrass in a St. Augustine lawn in the Gardening and Landscape Forum (“The Empire Strikes Back – How to Eliminate Winter Bluegrass”), but I was kindly referred to the lawn and turfgrass forum. Would this be the right place to ask my convoluted question, or should it be posted in the Weed Forum? Any help, assistance, or feedback would be greatly appreciated! Thanks so much!

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 12:01 pm 

It pulls very easily. Pull the bunches before they grow seeds. I've tried some selective products with minimal success.

My approach with my St Augustine:

1. Try my darnest to keep a plush, healthy turf.

2. Water 1-inch at a time as little as possible.

3. Pull weeds by hand

I've pretty much given up on on any herbsides or pre-emergents, organic or not.

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 4:44 pm 

Hi EAnton,

Thanks so much for your reply, and for sharing your really valuable experience battling winter bluegrass!

I started pulling the bluegrass as soon as it appeared, because I knew of the horrors that awaited in the spring when it started to seed; but it grew so fast, and there was so much of it that even though I was pulling literally all winter long, there's still about 2,000 sq. ft. of it to deal with :shock:.

I tried applying vinegar for the first time in February; but since there was so much, it would have taken quite a bit of money to apply it properly to really kill it off.