It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:31 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: invasive weed/vine
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:32 pm 

This is my first time on DirtDoctor.com. I understand I'm suppose to be brief, but I'm hoping someone out there will have the patience to read my long-winded descriptions of what I call "TERROR VINE." Thanks to your refs. to web sites (Texneus, AMG, Organic 1) I've researched bindweeds, greenbriars, wild buckwheats, etc., but haven't found my specific vine. HELP! The roots are shallow (1 to 1 1/2 "). The vine is beet red from the root to the first leaves (which may be 3' away from the root), then the vine is green. The vine is NOT woody, but soft/fleshy. No tendrils. No hairs. It's covered in small (1/16") hooked/clawed thorns. The underside of the leaves also has thorns along the main vein. Leaves are green. Young leaves are elongated arrowheads, older leaves are more triangular arrowheads. Each leaf node is surrounded with a strange cup-shaped leaf around the vine, out of which grows the contiuation of the vine, and one stem (1 to 3") and one arrowhead leaf. No noticeable flowers, but some vine ends (where the cup-shaped leaf is formed) develop small grape-like clusters of berries. Berries are about 1/16-1/8" diameter, and change from light green to dark blue in the month of August. It prefers sun, and doesn't grow well in dense shade. It seems to propagate by the berry seeds (and birds?).
If you have read this far, a million thank yous!!! I DESPISE this Terror Vine. It's extremely invasive, forming a smothering blanket of vines on top of shrubs, flowers, and even trees. It seems to grow by the yards. The thorns cling to anything including clothing, gloves, pets, so ripping it out is hazardous duty!
Over the past 55 years, I've battled, and defeated, honeysuckle, morning glory, virginia creeper, poison ivy, and wild grape vine. But, I'm losing my war against this Terror Vine